top of page
Search
Writer's pictureyindac

Habits of Mind

Curiosity

This course definitely inspires my "desire to know more about the world", because it brings many new terms to me that I've never realized before. You see I never realize that Disney has such huge influences on the social construction of gender roles. I feel ignorant whenever I learn new things, and I would like to learn more about the world.


Openness

Well, after week 3's activities about gender role and toxic masculinity, I redefine my considerations of a healthy human male. In the future, I will try to use a more objective standpoint to interpret genders and their roles.


Engagement

I already discussed my improvements on "Engagement" in week 2's blog. (https://yindac.wixsite.com/hardtofindsite/post/what-i-ve-learned-from-past-two-weeks)

I think it is interesting to focus on lines instead of scenes when engaging with a film because lines usually contain more implications than scenes do.


Creativity

In the past, I barely used long videos like film, documentary, speech, etc to investigate or represent my ideas. In this course, we used long videos a lot, so I guess this is a "novel approach for generating, investigating, and representing ideas" to me.


Persistence

This course requires a large amount of time input every week. A major assignment like annotating The Beast and Beauty needs at least three hours to finish since the movie itself is two hours long, so my "ability to sustain interest in and attention to short- and long-term projects" is certainly improved.



Flexibility

To be honest, I didn't expect such large workloads from this course at beginning of the quarter, and there's work to do even on the weekends. I have to adjust myself to adopt this learning style.


Responsibility

I haven't yet learned anything about responsibility, but I guess it will improve once the group project starts.


Metacognition (reflection)

Writing reflection blogs is the best way for us to improve our ability to reflect on our "processes used to structure knowledge".

27 views5 comments

Recent Posts

See All

5 Comments


Baiyu Wang
Baiyu Wang
Feb 01, 2021

I agree with your views on Persistence and Flexibility. Since this class needs to submit different assignments every week, we really need to reasonably allocate daily tasks. In addition, since the topic of this class is inseparable from Disney movies, both week 3’s The Beast and Beauty and this week’s Star Wars are very time-consuming.

Like

Wei Huang
Wei Huang
Feb 01, 2021

Hi Yinda, I can relate to how you said that you weren’t expecting such a large workload, I had to learn how to manage my time better and to stay organized in order to complete all assignments. Something I recommend would be to write everything out so that you have a visual representation of what needs to be done, plus it feels really nice to cross everything out at the end of the day!

Like

2698842262
Feb 01, 2021

Hi Yinda! Referring ti what you wrote about openness or reconsideration when translating "genders and their roles," have you thought about there are genders (and absolutely their roles) cannot be translated or defined clearly? I ask this because I think there are other 2 gender system which may not have clear border lines--non-binary gender system and fluid gender system.

Like

Jiayi Chen
Jiayi Chen
Jan 31, 2021

I appreciate your point about curiosity. Disney has long been a popular and familiar media for children, but I don't notice how it unconsciously affects my perception of gender roles until I learn it from this course, which motivates my desire to further explore it.

Like

kaiyund
Jan 30, 2021

Hi Yinda! I agree with your views on persistence and flexibility. The teaching method of this writing class is indeed different from the ones I have taken before. A lot of assignment takes me a long time to complete, which really improve my ability. I learned to use time flexibly to achieve higher efficiency now.

Like
bottom of page