top of page
Search
Writer's pictureyindac

Final Reflection Blog

Transformative Learning

One of the significant moments I had in this course is Week 2 Exploratory Writing: Killing Us Softly 4 & Looking into the Magic Mirror. That was the first time I annotated a long video. Unlike the article, videos are moving pictures with captions and narrative, so a 10 minutes long video actually contains more information than an article that requires 10 minutes to read. By annotating and writing a summary, I'm able to reorganize the main points from the video and find out the parts I watched but forgot. This is a new studying way for me.



The second meaningful moment that helps me to become a better communicator is the podcast group project. This is also the first time for me to record a podcast and design a webpage for it. It's heavier work than I expected, but I enjoy it just like the rest of my group mates. Although we had communication barriers due to the fact that we are in different parts of the world, we overcame them and successfully done the job. What I learn from this experience is that never hesitate to communicate within the group because that's the only way for others to understand your opinions.


Taking Stock-- Problems & A Plan for the Future

We met one major collaboration issue podcast project. I talked about this in the podcast project reflection that when we were doing the final production, we found that it was nearly impossible to record the whole podcast at once due to the lack of communication before the final production. We barely knew the details of the content of other group members, so we had to record each conversation and segment separately. It supposed to be a one-hour meeting, and it turned out to be a four-hour meeting. The teamwork definitely could be better, and we need more communication before final production in the future.



Another Issue that bothering me the whole quarter is that I find it hard to concentrate on the long-time assignments. Whenever I'm stuck on writing, my attention shifts to other irrelevant stuff. My solution to this is to divide the whole assignment into different working sessions, and it really helps.


37 views7 comments

Recent Posts

See All

7 комментариев


kaiyund
15 мар. 2021 г.

Hi, Yinda! I also think the podcast assignment is very helpful for improving our skills. I also learned the importance of teamwork, which can make the assignment easier to do and have much more efficiency. I like your thought that communication is a key point for doing teamwork. After all, I want to say that I am very happy working with you guys, and it is been a pleasure to working with you.

Лайк

Jenny Kim
Jenny Kim
15 мар. 2021 г.

Hi Yinda,

I also think that I grew as a communicator as a result of working on the podcast. There were many instances during the podcast production process where we had to effectively communicate with our group members so that everyone was on the same page. It was also important to communicate in order to finish the assignment on time with a quality podcast. I enjoyed reading your podcast and I wish you luck on your future podcast journey.

Лайк

Ray Khan
Ray Khan
15 мар. 2021 г.

Hi Yinda! I’m glad that this course helped with gaining close-reading and annotation skills. Recording specific scenes from videos and films was a new experience for me, as well, but it’s great to develop that keen eye. And since I was with you in the podcast assignment, I agree with your observation of the lack of communication between our team that resulted in a prolonged recording session. Through addressing our areas of improvement, we can work to get better. It’s been a pleasure working with you and I wish you the best!


Лайк

Kai Wen
Kai Wen
15 мар. 2021 г.

Hi Yinda, the same problem happened as well for our group. I think the main reason is the lack of sufficient communication between members especially through remote learning. But we all managed to finish the project and did a nice job! It's nice to work with you in the last two weeks. Your suggestions and feedbacks on my podcast and writing showcase helped me a lot. Wish you a pleasant spring break and have fun!

Лайк

Jiayi Chen
Jiayi Chen
14 мар. 2021 г.

Hi Yinda, I also think watching videos provides me with a new form of reading, from which I learnt how to make annotations and become engaged in materials. In addition, I mention the tough procedure of recording in my podcast reflection as well and it's wise to record parts separately for the follwing content. Though the process is hard, I enjoy working with you guys. Hope you doing well in your future study!

Лайк
bottom of page