top of page
Search
Writer's pictureyindac

What I've learned from past two weeks

"Develop habits for engaged reading"

We did a lot of stuff for this course in the past two weeks. We used the website Connect very often. To me, it's an amazing tool, because it allows me to follow my prefered learning progess and habits. "Engaged Reading Pratices" and "Integrating Sources into Your Writing" on Connect are absolutely helpful substitutes for lectures. Among all practices we did in last two weeks, I gained the most from assignment titled as "Close Reading Practice: Looking into the Magic Mirror, Haas and Trapdeo". After followed all instructions, I think my ability of engaging with reading tasks has improved.

In this assignment, I've been asked to read and analyze a reading by using seven different reading strategies. They are "predict the main idea", "make connections", "ask questions", "define public pedagogy", "identify excerpts about beauty", "identify excerpts about gender roles", and "write a brief summary". Among the rest, I value "make connections" reading strategies the most. When I try make connections between reading and my experiences, I have to not only understand the main ideas of the reading, but also think deeply about how they affect me as a reader. I don't know about the others, but when I read a text that is somewhat relevant to me, I subconsciously picture myself as related party mentioned in the text. However, formally writing down the connections between me and reading is very different from just wildly imagining.


Here's one of the excerpts I wrote when completing "Make connection".

"Since Disney has a wide range of influences on the world, it reflects the current values, culture, trends, and tastes to some extent. Even now, when I think about fairy tales, I still take Disney's films as standard and model of fairy tales."



(https://www.pinterest.com/pin/82401868170658379/)


18 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

3 comentários


Peihao Hu
Peihao Hu
31 de jan. de 2021

Referring to what you write about the social influence made by Disney film, have you thought about some other movies that also have close relation with the social idea. I remembered when I was young there are many films produced by "Fox". Totally, you did a good job in this work.

Curtir

Chengheng Lyu
Chengheng Lyu
20 de jan. de 2021

Hi, I like your post. In this week, I had also developed my skills of engaing in reading. By doing so, I get a better understanding of the article, which can help me write a good paper based on that.

Curtir

Yun Chen
Yun Chen
18 de jan. de 2021

I also think the "Engage Reading Practices" is super helpful for the reading process. To follow up each step and in the end, I understand what is the essay tries to talk usually with this kind long essay I oftenly do not understand even after read thought, now I know how I suppose to do when I read an essay or article.

Curtir
bottom of page